Getting Behind

I know you think I am going to write about keeping up. I am not. I want to write about my son’s behind keeping up. He (for current purposes we will call him Dutch) is a few weeks shy of four months, and his bottom is a few months late in developing. In other words, he is behind in his behind. What this means for him is pooping is easier grunted about than done. What this means for me is too little sleep.

I know his development will come; in fact, his pedi says around four months. What I would like to really know is how long it will take me to fully develop? Yet again, this experience with Dutch has taught me an important area in which I am consistently behind: prayer.

I spent the better part of 12 weeks bemoaning Dutch’s plight and my lack of sleep. Before I was pregnant with him I prayed for him to come into our lives. I prayed for a successful entry into the world. I prayed a prayer of thanksgiving over him. And then I seemed to stop praying. I know that the God of this universe is as intimately concerned with my son’s pooper as He is with his heart. I know He would love to show Himself faithful to me by bringing about some relief for us both. I was late to this party, but I am not leaving early.

What “behind” are you leaving behind on your prayer list? Trust God. There is nothing too trivial, too embarrassing, that cannot be taken before the throne (whoa … what an opportunity for humor I will not take!).

I am praying for a boy that can poop on demand. Just check back with me in about 16 years and see if maybe that prayer has taken on a new direction!

4 Comments

  1. Sandy said,

    May 14, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Trust me. The poop will come and at sixteen you will be wondering “who died in the bathroom?”

  2. Shirley said,

    May 16, 2008 at 1:59 am

    Amy, you will definitely be praying for Dutch when he is sixteen but I’ll bet it’s NOT about poop! What IS it about prayer that keeps us from keeping up! ? I find too that I can pray so much for a situation and then I seem to lose interest as things get a little better and I just trail off…then realizing that I HAVEN’T prayed for a particular person or situation for quite some time and I’m just letting things roll…oh how frustrated God must get with me…thankfully he IS a merciful God and we CAN come back to Him!

  3. Britt said,

    May 15, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Ok, since you wrote about poop in your blog, I’m going to write about it too. Seriously, the enemy has so much to gain if we are too busy to pray. I love how Beth Moore said something like, “If the enemy can’t get you to destruction, he will get you distracted.”

  4. Peggy said,

    May 16, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    What a funny blog about Dutch? I distinctly remember one of my children having trouble with her first poop after we stopped the breastfeeding meals and I think I cried with her! She was 1 1/2 yrs old and didn’t understand what was happening. I prayed hard for God to help get the poop out! I remember thinking that I was glad no other adults were in the bathroom with us at the time because they might question my sanity at asking God to get the poop out of my child!!! He will answer prayers no matter how desperately insane they may be. 🙂

    Keep praying for Dutch’s bottom to mature. It will and both of you will get through this rough time of his infancy!


Leave a Reply

