Play Dates

Here’s my confession: Play dates make me nervous.

I’m never quit sure what my role is in the “date.” Am I supposed to bring a gift? Flowers? Wine? Cookies? And what if my counterpart in the date doesn’t like me as much as my kiddo likes hers? What if there is no second date? What if, because of me, my little girl only has a string of first play dates?

Cado (nickname for my three-year-old) had one such social event just this morning with an absolutely adorable little girl she has befriended at MDO. It has been a while in the making and our schedules finally allowed us the chance to get together. While I was getting us around this morning, I found myself wondering what I should wear. What will shebe wearing? What if I look like I’m trying too hard, or maybe not hard enough? Seriously … I had to snap out of it. There were bigger fish to fry; getting there on time really needed to be my one and only concern (with an almost 4-month-old, it’s a valid concern).

We made it and it was a wonderful morning. Despite the fact that Dutch filled his diaper (FINALLY!) and then screamed for food, I didn’t let ’em see me sweat. Cado was completely taken with their enormous back yard, intricate play station, tree swing and ducks. You heard me. Ducks. Blacky and Leller (yellow in toddler speak). And yes, the ducks are black and yellow. Seriously. I will never be able to top the ducks. If I have to arrange a play date we are meeting at the park and I’m bringing Chik-Fil-A.

I have said that this town we live in is a hard nut to crack. If you aren’t from here or didn’t go to college here, then you are in import. But more and more God answers my prayers for connections, relationships and yes, even new friendships.

So maybe it’s not the play dates that are that big of a deal. Maybe it is just that I need to relax and trust the Jesus in me whether I am leading a bible study, grocery shopping or chasing ducks.

Oh! On the way to our new friends’ home, Ava asks, “I wonder what Emily (not her real name) will be wearing? A tank top? A dress? What do you think, Mommy?”

Mommy thinks she is so glad your questions are really just out of curiosity!

 

2 Comments

  1. Edi Burnet said,

    May 19, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Good job friend. I just now got caught up on your blogging…2 week old you know! I am proud of you for actually accomplishing this blog. I am blog ignorant so I don’t really know what to write, I just wanted to let you know that I am also listening…good stuff.

  2. Kathy said,

    June 16, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    Blog Ignorant, LOL!!!!!


Leave a Reply

