Sore Subject

I have so many other things I should be doing right now, but since I can’t seem to lift my arms above my waist without yelping, I’m just going to blog. That’s right, I am super sore in the best possible way. Workout sore. I used my muscles sore. Bye-bye-baby-fat (eventually) sore.

I hate to diet. The more I tell myself not to have something, the more I want it. Oh, the flesh! Ever at odds with the spirit!

But, I love to exercise. Yep, I do. I love to feel the burn and to sweat it out. And I especially love doing it with a buddy, or lacking that, then in a class. I have just enough of a competitive spirit that I will push myself farther when I can measure my progress against someone else. I don’t have to win, I just have to push agaisnt the average.

BK (before kiddos) I was an avid and dedicated worker-outer. Then somewhere in the first weeks after Cado was born, I completely panicked at the thought of a) leaving her with a babysitter so I could — ghasp! — exercise?  How selfish of me! or b) leave her, even for one hour, in the kids holding area that my gym tries to pass off as “childcare.” Eventually, I realized that the inevitable risk of losing my sanity was much more a danger to Cado than the occassional hour apart. So back to the gym I went. Ah, sweet sweat. I love it.

Then my second pregnancy came along and I continued my workouts until complications caused me to cease and desist any real form of exercise. Bummer. But worth it!

So now Dutch is four months old and I can once again feel my sanity, and my waistline, slipping. But, oh, the children’s holding area! I knew I could not take Dutch there. He is a bit more, uh, emotional, shall we say, than his older sister, Cado. I would not make it past the warm up in a class before the door would open and a nose-scrunching, finger-wagging, child-holding-area-person would beckon me out of class because, well, Dutch is fussy and, well, they don’t really do fussy.

So I’ve decided to bite the bullet and have our one-of-a-kind, part-of-our-family babysitter keep the kids while I make mad dashes to the gym. As much as I would love to spend the babysitting budget on ladies’ lunches and the like, I’m going to make the switch (sorry ladies, the kiddos are coming with!). The up side is that I will eat less at those lunches because I’ll be wrangling the kiddos. And, crawling around under the table retrieving silverware, crayons and sippycups will up my calorie burning capacity. Win-win!

But for now, my muscles are screaming at me for waiting so long to be stretched, crunched, flexed and repetitively burned into submission. I already feel better.
Learn to appreciate and give dignity to your body, not abusing it, as is so common among those who know nothing of God. (I Thess. 4:4, The Message)

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Heidi Kory said,

    May 27, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    It finally hit me… I know why you call him Dutch!

    It’s like a little lightbulb went off in my head.

  2. Tocaya said,

    June 1, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Ok, so it’s official . . . I’m a slug! I do not like to exercise! Is there something wrong with me?? So, Aim, you can always out-measure me with your progress! If you ever want to really feel good about yourself, jog alongside me. Wait a minute . . . . I don’t jog. I have a car. 🙂

  3. Robyn said,

    June 11, 2008 at 7:38 am

    I hear you a good sweat does the body good in more ways than one. I have friends who laugh at my collection of exercise dvd’s. You know I never was a runner! Remember our trips around the city park – you ran one way I walked and met you the other — good times! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the verse.

  4. Britt said,

    June 14, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    I exercised once, I didn’t lose a pound.

  5. Kathy said,

    June 16, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    I exercised once too this year, but haven’t gone again because of the enormous Wyoming raised rattlesnake that I nearly ran over with the stroller!!!!! I didn’t lose a pound either, Britt!

  6. Edi Burnet said,

    June 18, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    So does this mean I still have a good 3 months to get my act together and exercise? Glad the pressure is off now, I’ll have another coconut cookie!


Leave a Reply

