Joyful Noise

Can you hear that? Listen closely! Aaahhhhh, there it is. The sound of quiet.

In a rare, unplanned and unprecedented moment, both of my kiddos are asleep at the same time. All I can hear is the buzz of the baby monitor and the hum of the fridge. And, unfortunately, the compulsive licking of one of our dogs that nearly makes me rocket into space like a crazed lunatic. But that is another blog. I will not let it get me down right now (Mostly because I just chased him out the door and begged him for five minutes of alone time. I actually think he took pity on me.).

Back to the quiet. It just confronted me with an unexpected scenario. When my kids are awake I’m like the ball in a ping-pong machine dartingfrom one thing to the next. So much to do! So little time! But just now when I realized they were both asleep I felt totally disoriented. Where do I go? What do I do? And when I get there (uh, with “there” being someplace exotic like the laundry room) what do I do?

It’s like the new quite-smoking campaign where they show people fumbling all over themselves trying to do everyday tasks. The end of the commercial says something like “If you can relearn to do things without holding a cigarette, you can do anything” or something much catchier than that.

That’s how I felt just now standing in my hallway by myself with no infant cries or toddler demands. Why, I just don’t know if I can fold clothes with two hands anymore. Do people really unload dishwashers without holding a 16-plus pound baby in one arm? Even typing this blog without using my left foot to bounce a baby seat has me completely off balance.

What in the world will I do when they leave home! Shudder. Convulse. Gag. Think happy thoughts! Think happy thoughts! Okay. I’m back. Let’s just leave that whole unpleasant topic for another century.

I guess while they snooze peacefully I’m going to sit here in the middle of my kitchen with counters that need sprucing, toys that need organizing, drawers that need cleaning (I’m thinking of file 13-ing their entire contents), and yes, clothes that need folding. I’ll just listen to the buzz of the monitor, the hum of the fridge, and the incessant licking of that dog. While I’m at it, I’ll make some noise of my own with some joyful praise to God for these mutts and their father who make me so tired, yet so happy.

O COME, let us sing to the Lord; let us make a joyful noise to the Rock of our salvation! (Psalm 95:1)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

