40 New Years

There is something undeniable and intense stirring within me at the start of this new year. I cannot articulate it in full because I don’t yet know in full what it is. There are some themes, however, ricocheting through my spirit like a ball in a pinball machine. There is an echo and a mantra humming low and increasing in bravado.

Your turning 40 this year.

I feel the rivers of anticipation rising within. I feel a resolve and an purpose-driven intention taking root. I have an excitement that carries with it the feelings of wide-open possibility akin to those we have in the milestones of life’s new beginnings, like graduating high school and college, starting a new job, finding a mate, having kids.

Your turning 40 this year.

A new beginning. The frustration over old mistakes, missed chances, roads not traveled, roads over traveled, and a general lack of  evolution towards my destiny is fading slowly only to be replaced by a renewed sense of possibility and probability. Life seems to be starting again and this time giving me the chance to do things a little more right.

Your turning 40 this year.

I feel at peace with my responsibility to take better care of myself physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually. I want to leave my kids a legacy full of vitality in each area. I want to be a blessing to them in person and in memory.

And there is a new awakening in my Spirit. God is beginning to draw me to a new place of submission and obedience in Him. I know His destiny and purposes for me are beyond my imagination. But I also know that I have to choice to live those out … or not. The latter shakes me to my core. So this year, I am putting one scared size 6 1/2 foot in front of the other.

Your turning 40 this year.

I want to enjoy my life, which is not always that easy for a type-A, to-do-list-writing, task-driven accomplish-it-or-move-out-of-the-way type of gal I just might be. Those things might not be all bad if the collateral damage wasn’t my kids, my husband, my friendships and yes, my destiny in Christ. I want to see the value in walking away from a warm basket of unfolded laundry to take a walk with my kids, talk with my husband or connect with a friend.

I want to laugh a lot more. Cry more, too. I want to be moved by people’s heartache and driven to action over injustice. I want most of all to help other women find freedom in Christ even as I continue to discover my own.

Yes. I am getting ready to turn 40 this year.

And have you heard? Forty is the new 25. Aging has never looked better.

3 Comments

  1. marce' said,

    January 7, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    You will be a gorgeous 40 in sooo many ways my friend! I am blessed to call you that.

  2. Heidi Kory said,

    January 10, 2009 at 1:43 am

    About that type a thing… maybe you could break yourself in by making a list of 40 things to do this year.

    I love you fur.!

  3. lavieabondante said,

    January 10, 2009 at 11:02 am

    That is inspired, Heidi! Love you, too!


Leave a Reply

